Four Cuban rowers have defected to the United States

Four Cuban athletes competing at the Pan Am rowing venue in St. Catharines have defected to the U.S., their coach confirming earlier today. The four have crossed the Niagara border with the help of friends in the U.S.The Cuban coach confirmed today four rowers had defected after the Cuban Lightweight men’s fours were forced to scratch on the henley course in St. Catharines during the race this morning.28 year old Leosmel Ramos and 32 year old Wilbur Turro dropped out before the regatta began on Saturday.Their teammates 25 year old Manuel Suarez and 18 year old Orlando Sotolongo left Brock University after they had both won silver medals.U.S. rower Keane Johnson says he started hearing rumblings around the residence that Cubans were defecting days ago.“Last Sunday when we were racing in our eight we heard that one of the Cuban athletes on that boat was missing and they had to use a sub at the last minute.”At this point Cubans still have special status with U.S. Immigration. Their application for refugee status will be accepted on the spot.Relations between the United States and Cuba are warming, but if these athletes can take advantage of the open door policy for Cubans right now, they won’t have to line up for Visas sometime in the future. read more

Domagoj Duvnjak – Player of the Year in the Bundesliga 201213

BundesligaDKB Handball BundesligaDomagoj DuvnjakHSV Hamburgplayer of the year The player with number 4 from the HSV Hamburg, Domagoj Duvnjak, has been chosen player of the year in this years’ Bundesliga edition. The players and the managers of the DKB-Handball-Bundesliga have decided the winner. The player will receive the award in HSV Hamburg’s last home game this season – against TBV Lemgo tomorrow. Domagoj Duvnjak and the HSV Hamburg won the EHF Champions League after defeating Barcelona in the final after overtime.List of previous player of the year awards:2002: Olafur Stefansson2003: Christian Schwarzer2004: Lars Krogh-Jeppesen2005: Henning Fritz2006: Gudjon Valur Sigurdsson2007: Nikola Karabatic2008: Nikola Karabatic2009: Thierry Omeyer2010: Filip Jicha2011: Uwe Gensheimer2012: Kim Andersson2013: Domagoj Duvnjak ← Previous Story Cristina Neagu to ZRK Buducnost Podgorica! Next Story → HC Metalurg, Montpellier, Pick Szeged – hoping for a Wild Card EHF CL invitation read more